che

People

The Chemical Engineering program offers students a broad education that stresses the fundamentals of science, technology, and engineering and incorporates state-of-the-art computer-aided design and management of chemical production processes.

Faculty and Staff Directory


fac

Thomas Webster

Professor & Chair
th.webster@neu.edu
617.373-2989

The focus of our research is the design, synthesis, and evaluation of nanomaterials for various medical applications. This includes self-assembled chemistries, nanoparticles, nanotubes, and nanostructured surfaces…more»

fac

Mansoor M. Amiji

Professor and Chair of Pharmaceutical Sciences
Affiliated Faculty
m.amiji@neu.edu
617.373-3137
fac

Anand Asthagiri

Associate Professor
A.Asthagiri@neu.edu
617.373-2996

The Asthagiri lab elucidates design principles for engineering living cells and tissues. These design principles provide a foundation for tissue engineering and regenerative medicine…more»

fac

Rebecca Carrier

Associate Professor
r.carrier@neu.edu
617.373-7126

The overall theme of my research interests is the interaction between biological systems and materials, with specific applications in drug delivery and regenerative medicinemore»

fac

Sunho Choi

Assistant Professor
s.choi@neu.edu
617.373-4852

The primary focus of our research is in demonstrating innovative processing strategies for nanostructured materials and functional hybrids engineered for challenging applications in clean and renewable energy…more»

fac

Heather A. Clark

Associate Professor of Pharmaceutical Sciences
Affiliated Faculty
h.clark@neu.edu
617.373-3091
fac

Arthur Coury

Professor
a.coury@neu.edu
617.373-2989
fac

Paul DiMilla

Associate Academic Specialist
p.dimilla@neu.edu
617.373-3818

Dr. Paul DiMilla has a new joint appointment position of Interdisciplinary Academic Specialist (Associate Level) to facilitate educational activities between the Chemical Engineering Department…more»

fac

Eno Ebong

Assistant Professor
e.ebong@neu.edu
617.373-8744

The primary focus of our research is to study the means by which endothelial cell mechanotransduction occurs in order to prevent or promote atherosclerosis… more»

fac

Matthew Eckelman

Assistant Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering
Secondary Appointment
m.eckelman@neu.edu
617.373-4256

Dr. Matthew Eckelman is an Assistant Professor at Northeastern University in Civil and Environmental Engineering, with a secondary appointment in Chemical Engineering…more»

fac

Adam Ekenseair

Assistant Professor
a.ekenseair@neu.edu
617.373-8742

The primary focus of my research is exploring the complex interplay between material composition, structural hierarchy, and biological response…more»

fac

Hicham Fenniri

Professor
h.fenniri@neu.edu
617.373-7690

The supramolecular nanoscale assembly group is a multidisciplinary team of scientists, engineers and technical staff dedicated to understanding the underlying concepts of molecular recognition, self-assembly and self-organization processes, and utilizing this knowledge to advance the health and medical technologies, energy and environment, information and communication technologies, and nanomaterials sectors…more»

fac

Edgar Goluch

Assistant Professor
E.Goluch@neu.edu
617.373-3500

Dr. Goluch’s research focuses on detection of biomolecules at the nanoscale. Research areas include micro/nano fluidic systems for systems biology applications, analytical chemistry, BioMEMS…more»

fac

Andrew Gouldstone

Associate Professor of Mechanical and Industrial Engineering
Secondary Appointment
a.gouldstone@neu.edu
617.373-3699

Dr. Andrew Gouldstone is an Associate Professor at Northeastern University in Mechanical & Industrial Engineering, with a secondary appointment in Chemical Engineering…more»

fac

Vincent Harris

University Distinguished Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering
Secondary Appointment
v.harris@neu.edu
617.373-7603

Professor Vincent Harris has had a distinguished career as an engineer, scientist, inventor, entrepreneur and leader of engineers and scientists for more than 20 years…more»

fac

Barry L. Karger

Professor & Director of Barnett Institute
Affiliated Faculty
b.karger@neu.edu
617.373-2867
fac

Lucas Landherr

Assistant Academic Specialist
l.landherr@neu.edu
617.373-8646

Dr. Lucas Landherr received his Bachelor’s degree from Lafayette College in 2005 with an honors thesis studying drag-reducing polymers…more»

fac

Carolyn Lee-Parsons

Associate Professor
ca.lee@neu.edu
617.373-3634

My main research focus is the production of valuable pharmaceutical compounds from plant cell cultures, specifically the production of important anti-cancer drug molecules from cell cultures of Catharanthus roseus…more»

fac

Laura Lewis

Cabot Professor
lhlewis@neu.edu
617.373-3419

Current research is devoted to understanding magnetostructural transitions, which comprise simultaneous magnetic and structural phase changes. These transitions are attracting new attention…more»

fac

Shashi Murthy

Associate Professor
s.murthy@neu.edu
617.373-4017

Dr. Murthy’s research areas include microfluidic isolation of stem and progenitor cells, point-of-care diagnostics, and cell surface phenomena during microfluidic flow…more»

fac

Courtney Pfluger

Assistant Academic Specialist
c.pfluger@neu.edu
617.373-8018

Dr. Courtney Pfluger received her Bachelor’s degree from Northeastern University in 2004. She then went to work in the Biotechnology Industry, where she worked on process development of recombinant proteins…more»

fac

Elizabeth Podlaha-Murphy

Professor
e.podlaha-murphy@neu.edu
617.373-3769

Our group aims to understand, discover, and develop novel electrodeposited nanomaterials. Current projects include electrodeposited, multilayered nanowires and nanotubes, nanostructured metal matrix composites…more»

fac

Amit Roy

Assistant Academic Specialist
a.roy@neu.edu
617.373-2059

more»

fac

Jeffrey Ruberti

Associate Professor of Mechanical and Industrial Engineering
Secondary Appointment
j.ruberti@neu.edu
617.373-2740

Dr. Ruberti is the director of the EMERL. He has extensive industry experience having worked on helicopters at Sikorsky Aircraft, the International Space Station life support system at Hamilton Sunstrand…more»

fac

Barry Satvat

Associate Academic Specialist
b.satvat@neu.edu
fac

Shiaoming Shi

Assistant Academic Specialist
s.shi@neu.edu
617.373-2989

Dr. Shiaoming Shi received his Bachelor’s degree from the University of Science and Technology of China in 1991. He then completed his Ph.D. at the University of Pittsburgh in 1998, developing systems to detect and analyze HIV drug resistance.more»

fac

Srinivas Sridhar

CAS Distinquished Professor of Physics
Affiliated Faculty
s.sridhar@neu.edu
617.373-2930
fac

Richard West

Assistant Professor
r.west@neu.edu
617.373-5163

The primary focus of my research is the development of detailed microkinetic models for complex reacting systems. Our approach is to automate the discovery of reaction pathways, and the calculation…more»

fac

Ron Willey

Professor
r.willey@neu.edu
617.373-3962

Prof. Willey's interest is process safety…more»

fac

Katherine Ziemer

Associate Professor
k.ziemer@neu.edu
617.373-2990

Dr. Ziemer’s research involves engineering surfaces in order to integrate wide bandgap semiconductors with functional and multi-functional oxides, organic molecules, and/or biomaterials…more»